Skip to main content

Health and Medical Resources: Home

A list of resources and links to resources related to health and medical issues.

 

This guide is provided as a one-stop place to find online resources for health and medical questions. It's only a small list of the thousands of sites you can find; however, we have confirmed these sites provide reliable information. 

Evaluating Health Information on the Web

Medical Diagnoses can be unsettling and sometimes confusing. The following websites can help you become a more informed online consumer of health and medical information.

Visit the National Institutes of Health to learn "How to Evaluate Health Information on the Internet: Questions and Answers."

Visit Medline Plus to help you with "Evaluating Health Information." 

The National Library of Medicine provides a tutorial on  "Evaluating Internet Health Information" 

Miscellaneous Health and Medical Information

Center for Disease Control
The Center for Disease Control’s mission is to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same. Statistics regarding foodborne illness outbreaks and the flu can be found here.

Kaiser Family Foundation
A leader in health policy analysis and health journalism, the Kaiser Family Foundation is dedicated to filling the need for trusted information on national health issues

Cleveland Clinic's Health Library
Visit the Cleveland Clinic’s Health Library to browse an A to Z list of common symptoms.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.U.S. National Library of Medicine

MentalHealth.gov
MentalHealth.gov provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information.

State and Local Medical Information

Texas Health and Human Services
The mission of Texas Health and Human Services is to provide the leadership and direction and foster the spirit of innovation needed to achieve an efficient and effective health and human services system for Texans.

Your Texas Benefits: Health Care
This website provides information on how you apply for state medical benefits for health care and the SNAP Program. 

HealthyTexasWomen.org
The newly redesigned HealthyTexasWomen.org makes it easier to get information about the healthcare services Texas Health and Human Services offers. Women must apply for the programs and be approved to get services.

Kendall County Indigent Health and Housing

Kendall County Women’s Shelter

Hill Country Daily Bread (food assistance)

Rainbow Senior Center/Kronkosky Center (Meals on Wheels)

TexShare Health and Medical Databases

Link To TexShare Databases

 

 

You can also access these databases offered by the library through TexShare. These databases are free resources available to every library patron in Texas. This outstanding resource is provided, in part, by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. 

 

Click here if you're accessing TexShare during your visit to the library. 

Click here if you're accessing TexShare outside of our library. You will need a PHPL library card to use this remotely. 

Alt Healthwatch 
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.

 
Consumer Health Complete 
Supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.


EBSCO Natural and Alternative Treatments 
Focuses on alternative and holistic approaches to healthcare and wellness. Designed for consumer health researchers and clinicians, Natural & Alternative Treatments is an essential tool that satisfies an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased natural health information.


Health Reference Center Academic 
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions. 


Health Source: Consumer Edition 
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.


MedicLatina SP
A unique collection of medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.


Medline 
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.


Salud en español SP 
This source provides topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews of diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. Salud en Español is the one-stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets in the Spanish language.