Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health and Wellness Resources

A list of resources and links to resources related to health and medical issues.

Library Databases and TexShare Resources

Link To TexShare Databases

You can also access these databases offered by the library through TexShare. These databases are free resources available to every library patron in Texas. This outstanding resource is provided, in part, by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. 

Click here if you're accessing TexShare during your visit to the library. 

Click here if you're accessing TexShare outside of our library. You will need a PHPL library card to use this remotely. 

 

Alt Healthwatch 
A full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
 
Consumer Health Complete 
Supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.

EBSCO Natural and Alternative Treatments 
Focuses on alternative and holistic approaches to healthcare and wellness. Designed for consumer health researchers and clinicians, Natural & Alternative Treatments is an essential tool that satisfies an ever-growing demand for accurate, unbiased natural health information.

Health Reference Center Academic 
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Health Reference Center Academic ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions. 

Health Source: Consumer Edition 
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.

MedicLatina SP
A unique collection of medical research and scientific journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, MedicLatina contains a complete table of contents and PDF full text for peer-reviewed medical journals in the Spanish language.

Medline 
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Salud en Español SP 
This source provides topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews of diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. Salud en Español is the one-stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets in the Spanish language.