Skip to main content

Kendall County Social Service Agencies: Home

This guide provides links and information to assist our community in finding social services assistance in Kendall County.

Introduction to Kendall County Social Service Resources

IF THIS IS AN EMERGENCY, PLEASE CALL 911

As Kendall County grows, it is the library's goal to serve as a one-stop site for information resources to aid anyone in our community who needs assistance with difficult everyday life issues.  *** We appreciate and acknowledge the immense effort and work previously put into this resource collection by Hill Country Family Services and are grateful for their assistance and helpful guidance in this transition!

We maintain and update semi-annually a social service nonprofit community guide, which is available here. If you are a nonprofit that would like to be added to this guide, please call us at 830-249-3053.  ** We did not include organizations from past editions of this guidebook that we could not reach or did not respond to our request for confirmation that information included in the guide was relevant and accurate. We will include updated information on each organization as it becomes available.  

In addition, we maintain a community resources shelf upstairs in the library for brochures, pamphlets and news on events and programs in the community.  ** If you have brochures or event publicity you would like to see included on this nonprofit shelf specifically designed for social services, please leave information for us at the upstairs information desk at the library.

We may not have all the answers, but we will help steer you in the right path with compassion, confidentiality and non judgment. 

Food & Household Assistance

 

Hill Country Family Services operates at the intersection of urgent need and lasting change. They provide food, emergency funding and clothing for those in need.

 

 

Hill Country Daily Bread Ministries provides food, diapers and other needed resources through a faith-based ministry program.  

 

 

The Kendall County Health Department manages the Women, Infant and Children (WIC) Nutrition Services assistance and provides nutritional assessment, couneling and education to Kendall County families.  Food vouchers are available to financially eligible women and children.

 

 

Domestic Violence

Transformation House provides a safe space and time for survivors to make substantial progress in their healing and in rebuilding their lives.

 

 

The mission of the Kendall County Women's Shelter is to provide safe, emergency shelter in a supportive environment where Texas Hill Country victims of domestic violence and their children can begin the healing process and receive the support services they need to build new lives.

Health Care

Kendall County Indigent Health and Housing is a state mandated program that provides medically needed health assistance to those who meet the income, resources, residency, and household composition. 

Hill Country Mission for Health is a medical ministry providing charitable primary healthcare for eligible low-income, uninsured adults residing in Kendall County and surrounding communities through strong non-governmental support.

The Wesley Nurse Program, located at First United Methodist Church in Boerne, is a program of Methodist Healthcare Ministries and provides community nursing resources as well as health education, promotion and facilitation of resources.  

Hill Country Pregnancy  Care Center provides a wide range of wellness services for women of pregnancy age, including pregnancy tests, counseling, STD testing, educational counseling and post abortive counseling.  It does not provide abortion services or referral for post abortion services.

Resources for Students

STUDENT HOMELESSNESS

If you are a Boerne ISD student, please contact 830-357-2040 and ask for Tami Charest

If you are a Comfort ISD student, please contact 830-995-6400 and ask for Dr. Jerry Adams

STUDENT HUNGER

Boerne ISD Child Nutrition Department: 830-357-2064

Comfort ISD Nutrition and Food Services: 830-995-6400 ext. 150

             

The BCC is an all-volunteer organization that works in partnership with other local organizations who all share the same vision, that children in our community should not be at risk of being hungry.

Blessings in a Backpack  partners with the community to ensure impoverished elementary school children are fed on the weekends throughout the school year.

 

STUDENT MENTAL HEALTH AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE

BRR was founded by parents, school administrators, healthcare professionals, therapists, local law enforcement, and community leaders who are dedicated to providing resources for guidance and education for dealing with today’s life issues including substance use, coping skills, mental health, and overall health and wellness.

 

Homelessness & Housing

 

Texas Homeless Network leads Texas communities in working to make homelessness rare, brief and non-recurring.  On January 23, 2020, the Boerne Homeless Coalition is working with THN to particiapte in a Point In Time (PIT) survey count to provide a baseline demographic for our area homeless population.  Services for our homeless neighbors in Boerne are limited in scope at this time, but we are working to build an infrastructure that can assist those in need in this population. Please stay tuned to this community conversation.

 

 

 

 

 

Substance Abuse & Mental Health

Information and resources to assist with addiction can be found through the San Antonio Council on Alcohol & Drug Awareness, which serves Kendall County.  

 

 

Assistance in support and recovery, with meetings held in various locales throughout the county and the greater Hill Country.  24 Hour Hotline number is 210-828-6235.   Website is here.  

 

Hill Country MHDD has 22 locations including 14 Mental Health Clinics and 8 Developmental Disability Centers serving a population of over 630,000 within a 22,593 square mile area, including Kendall County.  Click here for more information.

 

Senior and Aging Resources

 

The Rainbow Senior Center at Kronskosky Place is a private not for profit senior activity center that provides low cost lunch options, Meals on Wheels and senior activities and events.  

Alamo Area Agency on Aging is dedicated to building a community that supports older residents and allows them to age in place with dignity, security, and enhanced quality of life. The range of services provided includes congregate meals, home-delivered meals, benefits counseling, care coordination, legal assistance, nutrition and counseling and training, caregiver support, and transportation services.

The Patrick Heath Public Library provides delivery services for homebound patrons and outreach programming to nursing homes and wellness centers.  

‚Äč