Skip to main content

Local and Family History: Home

This guide will direct you to a variety of resources to help you in your research of the history and genealogy of the Texas Hill Country, but primarily in the Boerne area.

WELCOME

Kendall County Local and Family History

Our Dietert Historical Archives department is filled with excellent resources for those who wish to learn more about their local and family history!  We have physical materials as well as online databases that can help you with your research, please stop by during library business hours and we'll be glad to assist you.

ARCHIVE STAFF

Robin Stauber

Adult Services Librarian
Phone: 830-249-3053
Email: stauber@boernelibrary.org

 

Caren Creech

Adult and YA Services Assistant
Phone: 830-249-3053
Email: creech@boernelibrary.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LOCAL WWII VETERAN INTERVIEWS

GENERAL FAMILY RESEARCH RESOURCES

New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS) has more than 1.4 billion genealogical records for users to look through, as well as two periodicals available for in-library use: American Ancestors Magazine and The New England Historical and Genealogical Register.

 

America's GenealogyBank has many resources for family history research, including over 230 years of historical U.S. newspapers, 11,700 other printed materials, and historical records from 1789 to 1994. This source also includes modern data such as American obituaries dating back to 1977 and a Social Security Death Index from 1937 to 2014.

 

HeritageQuest allows users to search through U.S. Census records as well as historical documents such as military and immigration records, city directories, and revolutionary war pensions. They also provide research aid articles with tips about ancestry search, creating timelines, finding information on family "blacksheep", and Cemetery research.

 

 

FamilySearch has over 1 billion records that help users piece together their family history and create a complete family tree. Creating an account on this site is free and allows the option to save family trees and gathered data about members in a family tree.

 

 

BOERNE HISTORY TIMELINE - Find out important dates in Boerne's history by scrolling through this timeline created by Patrick Heath Public Library's Assistant Director, Natalie Morgan, and long time Library Volunteer, Bettie Edmonds.

 

BOERNE CEMETERY - Find information and pictures for a specific grave site in the Boerne Cemetery by searching for either an individual's name or a family name, then use the Map of Boerne Cemetery to learn the grave's location on the cemetery grounds.

 

GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY OF KENDALL COUNTY - Find physical copies of Kendall County historical documents at the Genealogical Society of Kendall County's library, The Family History Place, located 114 East Blanco Street, Boerne TX 78006. You can also view cemeteries throughout Kendall County or search for the burial location of an individual by name.

 

RECOLLECTIONS OF BOERNE AND KENDALL COUNTY - Find out more about local Boerne and Kendall County history by browsing this digitized collection of historical documents, images, and stories compiled by Edith Gray, founder of Boerne's first library - the Edith A. Gray Library.

 

PORTAL TO TEXAS HISTORY - Find Kendall County and Boerne, Texas historical documents by browsing this vast collection of digitized records and pictures, created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries. This collection also includes access to copies of The Boerne Star - years 1940 to 1965.

 

KENDALL COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICE - Find Kendall County deed records by searching through the digitized records of the Kendall County Clerk's Office, dating back from Kendall County Sovereignty to 1982.

 

THE COMFORT HERITAGE FOUNDATION - Find local historical documents and artifacts at The Comfort Heritage Foundation Archives on 640 High Street, Comfort TX 78013. The goal of the foundation is to preserve the historical heritage of Comfort including historical structures, cultural values, and traditions.

 

KENDALL COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION - Find out more about Kendall County, both historical and present day by using the interactive map that shows locations and descriptions of historic markers and events.

 

BOERNE AREA HISTORICAL PRESERVATION SOCIETY - Find out about the historical preservation work being done through the city of Boerne to maintain the communities historical integrity as well as preserve Boerne's historic culture.

LOCAL WORLD WAR II RESOURCES

PATRICK HEATH PUBLIC LIBRARY ARCHIVES

The Archives section at the Patrick Heath Public Library houses many historical documents and photographs that have been added to the collection continuously since 2011, and are available for viewing inside the library during normal hours of operation.  The preservation of local and family history is important to the library and we appreciate any help from the community in helping to grow this collection. If you would like to view the archives collection or have any documents you think would contribute to the preservation of local and family history, please feel free to come in and see one of our Archives Staff Members or contact them using the contact info found at the top of this page. If you would like to know if the library has any historical documents related to your family, we have compiled a list that includes all family names that we have related documents for. We will always be happy to assist you with any help you may need viewing our archives on your next visit to the library!