Skip to Main Content

Dietert Community Archives: Home

This guide will direct you to a variety of resources to help you in your research of the history and genealogy of the Texas Hill Country, but primarily in the Boerne area.

WELCOME

Dietert Community Archives

The Dietert Community Archives include resources regarding the local and family history of Kendall County.  Stop by or call anytime for assistance. 

Key Resources:

An overview of the History of Boerne, developed by the Boerne CVB, can be found HERE.

You can reach our digitized archives Via BIBLIOBOARD.

For access to the Boerne Star, head to the Portal to Texas History.

The Comfort Public Library offers more than 100 years of The Comfort News.

2023 Marks the 10th anniversary of the Archives Newsletter, Echoes! 

This LINK takes you to back issues 2013-2022.

BATTLE OF WALKER'S CREEK -- 180TH ANNIVERSARY

June marks the 180th anniversary of The Battle of Walker's Creek, a seminal event in Texas history and in the use of firearms in the mid-19th century.  To commemorate the event, the Patrick Heath Public Library teamed up with the Kendall County Historical Commission for a retrospective exhibit and program that outlined the importance of the battle.  We've included documents and video from that event here.

 

Click here for a detailed 6-part (soon to be 7) account of the Battle of Walker's Creek written by local historian Bryden Moon.  For more information on future installments, sign up for our newsletter by emailing stauber@boernelibrary.org!

Click here for three first hand reports about the battle published within days of the engagement.

Click here to watch the video interview between PHPL's Caren Creech and Author Jim Rasenberger, who wrote "Revolver: Sam Colt & The Six-Shooter That Changed America." 

 

 

ONLINE YEARBOOKS

We have digitized 20 yearbooks from Boerne High School.  If you have a yearbook that we could borrow for digitization, please call us at the library and let us know!  Click below to read through a digital version of these yearbooks:

1947

1951

1953

1954

1955

1956

1957

1958

1959

1961

1963

1966/1967

1969

1970

1971

1972

1973

1974

1975

1978

LOCAL WWII VETERAN INTERVIEWS

Formation of the Boerne Volunteer Fire Department

3rd Grade History Project Information

 

​BOERNE ISD PARENTS/3RD GRADE STUDENTS! 

Start Here for Research on Boerne History. 

Archives policies:  We ask for a driver's license to hold while the file is out on the library floor.  You are welcome to make copies of anything you like.  Copies are .25 for B/W and $1.00 for color.   Archives files cannot be taken from the upstairs or checked out.  Research Assistance is by appointment only.  Please contact Robin at 830-249-3053 or stauber@boernelibrary.org for questions or to make appointments.

 

 

 

 

 

ARCHIVES NEWSLETTER

 

 
 
BISD'S THE BOERNE BOOK - A history of Boerne first compiled in 2011 from Boerne 3rd Grade Teachers and updated in 2020 by the district's social studies curriculum team.  Updates will continue periodically.  
 
BOERNE CEMETERY - Find information and pictures for a specific grave site in the Boerne Cemetery by searching for either an individual's name or a family name, then use the Map of Boerne Cemetery to learn the grave's location on the cemetery grounds.
Many of the graves and obituaries are listed in FINDAGRAVE.COM as well, and we are actively adding new obituaries and cemetery location information from our archives here.
 
GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY OF KENDALL COUNTY - Find physical copies of Kendall County historical documents at the Genealogical Society of Kendall County's library, The Family History Place, located 114 East Blanco Street, Boerne TX 78006. You can also view cemeteries throughout Kendall County or search for the burial location of an individual by name.
 
RECOLLECTIONS OF BOERNE AND KENDALL COUNTY - Find out more about local Boerne and Kendall County history by browsing this digitized collection of historical documents, images, and stories compiled by Edith Gray, founder of Boerne's first library - the Edith A. Gray Library.
 
PORTAL TO TEXAS HISTORY - Find Kendall County and Boerne, Texas historical documents by browsing this vast collection of digitized records and pictures, created and maintained by the University of North Texas Libraries. This collection also includes access to copies of The Boerne Star - years 1940 to 1965.
 
KENDALL COUNTY CLERK'S OFFICE - Find Kendall County deed records by searching through the digitized records of the Kendall County Clerk's Office, dating back from Kendall County Sovereignty to 1982.
 
THE COMFORT HERITAGE FOUNDATION - Find local historical documents and artifacts at The Comfort Heritage Foundation Archives on 640 High Street, Comfort TX 78013. The goal of the foundation is to preserve the historical heritage of Comfort including historical structures, cultural values, and traditions.
 
KENDALL COUNTY HISTORICAL COMMISSION - Find out more about Kendall County history here.
 
 

PATRICK HEATH PUBLIC LIBRARY ARCHIVES

The Archives section at the Patrick Heath Public Library houses many historical documents and photographs that have been added to the collection continuously since 2011, and are available for viewing inside the library during normal hours of operation.  The preservation of local and family history is important to the library and we appreciate any help from the community in helping to grow this collection. If you would like to view the archives collection or have any documents you think would contribute to the preservation of local and family history, please feel free to come in and see one of our Archives Staff Members or contact them using the contact info found at the top of this page. If you would like to know if the library has any historical documents related to your family, we have compiled a list that includes all family names that we have related documents for. We will always be happy to assist you with any help you may need viewing our archives on your next visit to the library!