Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Preparation: Home

Information for patrons preparing for college, seeking financial aid, or needing test proctoring services.

WELCOME

 

This guide is provided as a one-stop place to find resources to assist with all your college-preparation needs. It's only a small list of the thousands of sites you can find; however, we have confirmed these sites provide reliable information. 

PROCTORING SERVICES

​​Library Proctoring Services

The library facilitates exam proctoring weekdays from 9am to 6pm, for School, College and Vocational exams. Please call (830) 249-3053 for more information, or email the proctoring department

School and College Exams are $10.00 each to proctor. 

Vocational Exams are $20.00 each to proctor.

 

Online Proctoring Services

If you are unable to visit the library for proctoring services, the following companies offer online and at-home proctoring with many levels of security to choose from.

  • ProctorFREE provides an automated exam proctoring service that does not involve human interaction.  Their proctoring services are designed to be non-disruptive and can be accessed by test takers at any time. 
  • OnVue by Pearson provides a hybrid system combining hybrid and live monitoring of online test taking.
  • Examity provides a variety of test taking solutions including automated and live proctoring sessions. Examity’s platform allows clients to select the level of proctoring that best fits their needs.
  • TALVIEW uses and an automated system to monitor for any suspicious activity, monitor light in the room and look for suspicious objects and or background voice activity. 
  • ProctorU offers a fully automated recording and AI-based behavior flagging as well as live proctoring services through convenient, easy to use systems. 
  • ProctorTrack uses a fully automated, online remote proctoring system to monitor activity during a test.  Proctortrack uses both a desktop App and browser extension that ensures lockdown and live proctor services.

TEST PREPARATION

GED                                                  

St. Philip’s College is an Authorized Pearson Vue Test Center for the General Educational Development Computer Based Test (GED-CBT) and an Educational Testing Service Center for the administration of the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET) under the guidelines of the GED Testing Services and Texas Education Agency (TEA).

Input an address, city, or zip code to find nearby test centers

PHONE:  830-357-2000

PHONE:  210-544-2440

ACT, SAT and More                         

The College Board helps more than seven million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success — including the SAT and the Advanced Placement Program.

Free online test preparation courses including user-friendly tutorials, practice sessions that match each student's ability level, a vocabulary builder and more.

Free SAT prep videos, online courses and practice tests as well as math, reading, writing and general SAT tips and strategies.

This guide will help you to better understand the ACT, from what your results mean to tips for finding resources — both free and paid — that are available to help you prepare.

Students can lessen test stress by taking time to understand the SAT and developing strategies to tackle it. This guide offers an inside look at the SAT and expert advice from a tutoring specialist.

Chegg Learn a free learning resource that provides students with comprehensive information on a wide range of topics spanning relevant coursework like Chemistry, Economics, Computer Software, Statistics, Accounting, and Physics.

RESOURCES ON MBA PROGRAMS

The seven-part guide familiarizes individuals with their business school options while guiding them through the selection and application process. They offer state-specific resources exploring the MBA and business landscape in each state to advise individuals on local options for a quality business education.

This is helpful to prospective MBA students who want to limit the scope of their search to universities within the State of Texas only.

Online MBA courses are often not structured according to any set schedule. You can log on and read all of the materials you need at your own time! Explore the link!

You will find information on every online MBA program in the US analyzed. 50 industry experts, hiring managers, current students, and alumni consulted. 50 of the best programs identified.

Select a program that meets academic and financial needs. Begin researching programs early, and review funding options including grants, scholarships, and tuition reimbursement programs. Beginning to save money as soon as possible can also reduce student loans for MBA students.

Explore MBA minority scholarships. Students from certain backgrounds may qualify for ethnicity-based scholarships.

This link offers financial aid options for military personnel and veterans pursuing a college education. Common awards include private scholarships, federal loan forgiveness, grants, and tuition assistance programs. Individuals looking for military MBA scholarships should research the schools, professional organizations, and other resources.

HOW TO PAY FOR COLLEGE

Financial Aid                                            

Offers free application for Federal Student Aid. The office of the U.S. Department of Education, ensures that all eligible individuals can benefit from federally funded or federally guaranteed financial assistance for education beyond high school.

Offers weblinks for more information about financial aid and specific financial information for home schoolers as well.

Scholarships                                            

Scholarships.com has operated since 1998.  the website offers a simple approach to connecting students of all ages to scholarships via a dedicated search engine.  Staff at scholarships.com add and update scholarships in their database daily. Within the site you'll find links to Scholarships for:

Fastweb was created in 1995, offering personalized scholarship matching, information regarding FAFSA, assistance with college searches, and help finding student employment opportunities.  In addition to their directory they offer a variety of articles including:

Using this link, find information on student loans, scholarships, and saving for college that can be beneficial to students and parents before, during, and after college.

The Texas Comptroller's office has gathered a list of tools to help students and parents learn about how to fund higher education. This site includes links for College Savings Plans, information regarding The Texas Match the Promise Foundation, and a list of financial aid programs compiled by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation.

The Boerne Independent School District Maintains a list scholarship opportunities including several local offerings.

the Human Rights Campaign has gathered a list of financial aid for LGBTQ+ students and allies at both the undergraduate and graduate level. You can search by State or click the arrow in the yellow box to view all scholarships.

Find out about the grants, scholarships, and education resources that are available to veterans. This comprehensive user-friendly guide includes features such as GI Bill calculator, grants and scholarship directories, and interviews with the top universities that have programs designed specifically to support veteran higher education.

From scholarships to grants and loans, fire science and forestry students have many financial aid opportunities available to support their education goals.

Caring.com is a leading senior care resource for family caregivers seeking information and support as they care for aging parents, spouses and other loved ones. Caring.com has been featured on the Administration for Community Living, AARP, Forbes, and is referenced by many governmental agencies and organizations across the internet. Find out more about scholarships for student caregivers, as well as a scholarship offered by Caring.com.

RESOURCES ON COLLEGE CHOICE

The College Atlas help students make better, more informed choices by providing relevant, reliable and up-to-date information about colleges and universities.

Find more than 5,000+ colleges and universities in the US that offer both financial accessibility in terms of the lowest costs for low and middle income students, as well as flexibility in learning & credit.

Find in-depth information and get the most out of your college education. In addition, you will find articles with tips on paying for school, planning for college, maximizing military benefits, and student lifestyle.

Written by résumé expert Christian Eilers, the guide is aimed at students, with well-researched and includes professional tips from career advisers plus useful infographics. Explore the selection of major based on your interest.

Find out how to write a résumé for your college application. The link offers templates and tips on how  to get the college admission of your choice, with a well-written application.

Find an online program to work toward a Master's in Social Work

Discover where you can build the skills and knowledge to prepare to become a licensed social worker. 

 

ONLINE COLLEGES

You'll find a list of the "least expensive" Not-For-Profit universities offering online degree programs, whose graduates earn over $40,000 / year as a starting salary. These schools are dedicated to providing a low-cost education that enables their students to learn pertinent skills that meet the demands of today's global job market.

The Master of Public Health (MPH) is a graduate degree that prepares you to work on a wide range of public health initiatives; policy advocacy, health education, institutional administration, treatment delivery and disease prevention and more. Check it out!!

Provides an easy online platform where aspiring graduate students of all ages, backgrounds, and specialties can get the information they need to make informed decisions about their education.

Many traditional, not-for-profit colleges and universities have established undergraduate and graduate-level online programs. Renowned institutions such as the University of Oklahoma, University of Southern California, Penn State, Xavier, Stanford, and Columbia all offer online degrees and certificates. If you’re considering an online degree, this guide will walk you through everything you need to know – from application to graduation.

Compare Reviews for Online Colleges and choose the one that you like the best.

Texas Online Colleges & Universities

Find answers to common questions about online education. It offers a helpful comparison between affordable schools across the country.

Affordable Colleges Online provides community resources and tools related to higher education with an eye on affordability and accreditation.

Check out free and comprehensive resource - a collection of open college course that spans videos, audio lectures, and notes given by professors at Harvard, Princeton and MIT and more.

A graduate certificate is a program for students with master's degrees seeking to expand their existing knowledge into a niche, or specialization within their field of study.  GraduateCertificates.org seeks to provide comprehensive information regarding online and hybrid graduate certificate programs.  

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Online Resources                              

Tutor dot comTutor.com

Need help with homework? The Patrick Heath Public Library provides free online homework help through Tutor.com for library card holders. Tutoring is available in all core K-12 subjects – math, science, English, social studies and writing, including AP level assistance. Between the hours of noon and midnight students can connect to a live tutor from any computer or mobile device with an internet connection. Resources are also available for SAT, ACT or for an Early Edge on middle school math and English, through Princeton Review. Tutor.com also has resources available for AP Exams, through GetaFive.com, Tutor.com is provided free charge thanks to funding provided by the Boerne Public Library Foundation. Apps available on iOS and Android.

Learning Express

Learning Express is a free service provided for Patrick Heath Public Library card holders. Learning Express offers job and career centers, sample and practice tests such as SAT, ACT, GRE, MCAT, and LSAT, among others. Learning Express also helps with computer skills. You can access this database through our library catalog

Books on the Shelf